The Patient Man: The World’s Long Lost Love

Waiting-and-suffering-man

Hey guys,

I pray that all is well. I just wanted to take the time to share something with you. Lately, I’ve been working on practicing self control over my thoughts. If you’ve ever tried to “turn off” a thought that kept popping into your head, you can understand how difficult it can be. I needed help, so I started praying to God in this area. Well, today I felt led (by faith) to share a very welcomed thought that is helping me become more aware of how constructive I am with my time and thinking as well as how I can be more intentional about spending time with God. Maybe it will help you too. I will be speaking from my point of view so feel free to make this personal to you as well. So if you are interested, I would really love it if you took a moment to really picture this in your mind.

Here we go…

While I’m sitting at my desk studying hard for the long academic week to come, I imagine that there is a man sitting on the edge of my bed behind me doing nothing, but I can tell he’s waiting for something. It takes hours for me to come to a stopping point. But still he waits. Although I see him there, I only put in some weak attempts to show him any attention. Yet, he sits there with his eyes focused on the ground as if he’s daydreaming. Those eyes look tired. Not necessarily a physical “tired”, but as if he’s someone who is tired of going through the motions. So when I finally decide to take a break from studying, I notice his eyes quickly connecting with me. Those eyes shed their drained appearance and was replaced with, dare I say, hope… as if they were saying “maybe this is it?” I get up, stretch, reach for my phone, and start scrolling aimlessly through Instagram. In response, a grimace became visible on his face from hurt. Meanwhile he sinks down, resorting back to his staring contest with the floor. He is very jealous over my time. After pointless moments of soaking in meme after meme with the occasional selfie and sprinkles of inspirational quotes, I leave my room and grab a bite to eat, start texting my best friend, hop on the phone with mom, then dad, then my sister. When I’m back in my room, the trivial tasks build and build until I look up and realize that the day is gone and night has settled in. Yet, he’s still waiting. So I hop in bed with my Bible because I wanted to have another quiet time like I had that morning. Finally, I see this man grinning from ear to ear. This was a familiar grin, I’m pretty sure I had seen it that morning as well. I give my quiet time a good 30 minutes where I spent half the time trying to keep my eyes open after the long day. Eventually, I give up and call it a night. Following my lead, the man lays down, but stares at the ceiling upset. Another night of seeing me desire time with everything…besides him.

So Jasmine, what are you trying to say?

So maybe your time isn’t spent studying like mine is. Whatever the case may be in your life, the point I’m trying to make is that “the patient man” is our Lord and Savior. God is always with us and always desires to spend time with us and He loves to see that His followers desire time with him too. The Bible compares Christ’s followers and Jesus Christ Himself to being like husband and wife in marriage: 25 Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, 26 that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, 27 so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish.- Ephesians 5:25-27.” Therefore, if we ourselves are Christians, we are also saying that we are “married” to Christ! So many people, men, women, boys, and girls alike spend time imagining who their spouses will be and what a great fairy tale life they want to live with them. It’s hard to imagine that fairy tale not coming true. With that in mind, how would you feel if you were in a committed marriage with someone who constantly put things and people before you, did not desire to spend time with you, and made you feel like a last resort? Well, the truth of the matter is that our God feels the same way when we neglect Him! While we are so busy fantasizing about being married and finding “the one”, we can forget due to the hustle and bustle of our busy schedules that essentially…we’ve already found Him. Human beings deeply desire and long to love  and be loved. I’m no different. I believe since we were made in God’s image( Genesis 1:27 ), the same God who IS LOVE, 1 John 4:8 embedded in us the desire to find love in hopes that we would seek to find that love….in Him . Unfortunately, our sinful natures can draw our attention away from God and into this World where we are tempted, persuaded, and distracted from God’s pure and perfect intentions. So we find ourselves running through this life looking for worldly ways to fulfill a desire that only God can satisfy successfully. With all of this being said, I want to encourage you the next time you wake up in the morning and starting planning your long to-do list for the day to seek after the Man who loves you more than anyone else can.

Love you but God loves you SO much more,

-Jasmine

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

